mixed feelings.

For the past few days I’ve been thinking if I still love the works of Shungiku Nakamura and Takanaga Hinako. I really felt like I was drifting away from them just like what I did to Murakami Maki (Gravitation) a few years back. Before, I used to only like mainstream mangakas and hardly knew any other mangakas like I know now. But lately I’ve been telling myself that there’s more to yaoi fandom than Junjou Romantica, Koisuru Boukun, Finder Series and the like. What saddens me is that I grew from these mangakas and discovering a lot of new mangakas and (absentmindedly) replacing them kind of makes me feel disloyal to my yaoi roots. (.___.” ) Yes, I’m this sentimental when it comes to my BL fandom.

I’m sure everyone has heard of (and probably watched) Sekaiichi Hatsuko’s preview release already. I remember last year when I finally got over Junjou Romantica, I tried reading this series for a change. IMHO, Shungiku Nakamura’s works are just simply lovely. Her works – together with Takanaga Hinako’s are actually the ones that led me into this devoted BL fandom of mine right now. So anyway, after reading Sekaiichi Hatsukoi, I started to love Shungiku Nakamura once again. I don’t know but I liked the story of Sekaiichi Hatsukoi more than JR. But I must say that I am forever supporting the cabbage couple of JR (Miyagi/Shinobu) and Hiro/Nowaki, lol. Imagine the happiness I felt when they announced an anime releases of Sekaiichi Hatsukoi a few months back – I was literally crying and nearly broke my mouse because of intense mouse-flailing. ( ̄□ ̄;)

Anyway, it’s been a while since I last read/watched any of Shungiku Nakamura’s works. So when I tried downloading Sekaiichi Hatsukoi a few days ago, I had some mixed feelings about watching it or not. I feel like not watching it because I’m afraid it might disappoint me in some way or another and the other uncontrollable part of me who really wants to watch it no matter what the cost. Then I finally decided I should watch it. And there I was just a few minutes ago, all teary-eyed because I can’t believe I am actually watching Sekaiichi Hatsukoi after waiting for months until its most-anticipated release. (T▽T) I really hope the series will be a hit just like JR.

So that’s it. I think I can’t outgrow Shungiku Nakamura’s works yet. Also, I’m waiting for a new OVA release of Takanaga Hinako’s Koisuru Boukun. Meh, mangaka outgrow fail. I really am just taking baby-steps into BL fandom, lol.

On another note, I’m currently waiting for 14 tankoubons to be delivered by this week – approximately 17 tankoubons in total for this month. Ah, I really can’t wait to get my hands on Kojima Lalako’s and Junko’s new titles. (;___;)

One thought on “mixed feelings.

  1. Pingback: Plan on future reviews + insight on Sekaiichi Hatsukoi – I love it too much. « オタクと腐女子☆

Leave a Reply

